The Society of Legal Scholars

Annual Conference Oxford 2016

🔍

Call For Papers

The SLS subject sections are now issuing their calls for papers with a deadline of Friday 18th March 2016.

All abstracts must be submitted through the EasyChair conference system which can be accessed using the following link: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sls2016.  

Two written guides are available:

For the guide on on submitting a paper/poster click here

For the guide on uploading your final paper or presentation click here.

If you experience any problems, please contact Jed Meers at jed.meers@york.ac.uk.

The convenors are interested in any proposals relating to their sections, including those addressing this year’s theme of 'Legislation and the Role of the Judiciary’.  Alternatively, if you would like to propose a topic of current interest for a panel or roundtable discussion, please do get in touch with the relevant convenor to see if this can be arranged.  Their contact details appear below.  If your proposed paper does not fit neatly within any of the subject sections, then you may wish to consider presenting within the Open section or presenting a poster instead.

Please note that whilst you need only submit a proposed title and abstract at this stage, speakers will be asked to submit a copy of their full draft paper no later than a week before the conference or, if that is not possible, their PowerPoint slides or an extended abstract (two sides of A4).  This is to enable those who wish to read the papers in advance to do so thereby enhancing the quality of feedback and discussion in the subject sections. 

In addition, speakers should note that they will need to book and pay to attend the conference.  As part of a new initiative this year to reduce the number of late cancellations, speakers and poster presenters will be asked to register for the conference by the end of June in order to secure their place within the programme.

The subject sections will meet in either Section A (Tuesday 6th and Wednesday 7th September) or Section B (Thursday 8th September and Friday 9th September) of the conference, as follows:

SECTION A: 6 & 7 SEPTEMBER 2016 SECTION B: 8 & 9 SEPTEMBER 2016
Banking and Finance
Christopher Hare
christopher.hare@law.ox.ac.uk
Criminal Justice
Hannah Quirk and Natalie Wortley
hannah.quirk@manchester.ac.uk
n.wortley@northumbria.ac.uk
Civil Liberties and Human Rights
Ruvi Ziegler
r.ziegler@reading.ac.uk
Cyberlaw
Faye Wang
faye.wang@brunel.ac.uk
Company
Lorraine Talbot and Roseanne Russell
lorraine.talbot@york.ac.uk
RussellR8@cardiff.ac.uk
Environmental
Chris Willmore
Chris.Willmore@bristol.ac.uk
Comparative
David Marrani and Greta Bosch
David.Marrani@lawinstitute.ac.je
G.S.Bosch@exeter.ac.uk
Family
Amy Purvis
amy.purvis@sunderland.ac.uk
Contract, Commercial and Consumer
Dania Thomas
Dania.Thomas@glasgow.ac.uk
Jurisprudence
Femi Ilesanmi and Rebecca Moosavian
o.ilesanmi@rgu.ac.uk
rebecca.moosavian@northumbria.ac.uk
EU & Competition
Annette Nordhausen-Scholes
Annette.NordhausenScholes@manchester.ac.uk
Labour
Rebecca Zahn
rebecca.zahn@strath.ac.uk
Intellectual Property
Claire Howell
c.f.howell@aston.ac.uk
Legal Education
Caroline Strevens
caroline.strevens@portsmouth.ac.uk
International
Christian Henderson and Philippa Webb
C.M.Henderson@sussex.co.uk
Philippa.webb@kcl.ac.uk
Maritime
Leon Moller
L.E.Moller@rgu.ac.uk
Legal History
Rosemary Auchmuty
r.auchmuty@reading.ac.uk
Migration
Violeta Moreno Lax and Diego Acosta Arcarazo
v.moreno-lax@qmul.ac.uk
d.acosta@bristol.ac.uk

Media
Paul Wragg
P.M.Wragg@leeds.ac.uk

Open B
John Tribe
J.Tribe@liverpool.ac.uk
Medical
Mary Neal
Mary.Neal@strath.ac.uk
Practice, Profession and Ethics
Carla Crifo
cc116@leicester.ac.uk
Open A
John Tribe
j.tribe@kingston.ac.uk
Public
Ann Lyon and John Stanton
ann.lyon@plymouth.ac.uk
john.stanton.1@city.ac.uk
Property and Trusts
Simon Cooper
simoncooper@brookes.ac.uk
Tax
John Vella
John.vella@sbs.ox.ac.uk
Restitution
James Lee and Tatiana Cutts
james.lee@kcl.ac.uk
t.cutts@bham.ac.uk
Torts
Eric Descheemaeker and James Goudkamp
eric.descheemaeker@ed.ac.uk
james.goudkamp@law.ox.ac.uk

Please note that as the SLS is keen to ensure that as many members with good quality papers as possible are able to present, we discourage speakers from presenting more than one paper at the conference unless it is clear that there is space to do so.

Annette Morris
Subject Sections Secretary
MorrisA7@cardiff.ac.uk

Standard Desktop Version

Sitemap